Nepali Congress alliance reached near majority in elections, know the condition of other parties



Nepal Parliamentary Elections 2022: The Nepali Congress-led coalition on Tuesday inched closer to securing a majority in the parliamentary elections in Nepal. The ruling coalition has won or is leading in around 70 seats. The main opposition Communist Party of Nepal (Unified Marxist-Leninist) has so far won two seats and is leading in 40 other seats.

The coalition led by the Nepali Congress includes the CPN-Maoist Center and the CPN-Unified Socialist Parties. Elections were held for the House of Representatives (HOR) and seven provincial assemblies on Sunday. The counting of votes for this started on Monday. Of the 275 members of parliament, 165 will be elected through direct voting, while the remaining 110 will be elected through a proportional election system.

Congress in Nepal

Similarly, out of a total of 550 members of the provincial assemblies, 330 would be directly elected and 220 would be elected proportionally. According to Election Commission officials, the Nepali Congress has opened its account in Kathmandu and Prakash Man Singh has won. He has defeated his nearest rival Ravindra Mishra. Prakash Man Singh got 7,140 votes while Ravindra Mishra got 7,011 votes.

News Reels

So on the other hand, Congress General Secretary Gagan Thapa won the election from Kathmandu constituency by a margin of 4 to 7,500 votes, he got 21,294 votes. Whereas Rajan Bhattarai of CPM-UML, who contested against him, got 13,853 votes. On the other hand, if we talk about Prime Minister and Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba, then he is leading by 6,124 votes over his nearest rival Sagar Dhakal. Deuba has so far got 13,126 votes while Dhakal got 7,002 votes.

Along with this, Congress has also won the HOR seat of Manag district. Here Tek Bahadur Gurung has defeated Palden Gurung of CPM-UML. So at the same time, the party has also won the Mustang constituency. Here Yogendra Thakali has defeated Prasad Tuchalan by 914 votes. According to the Election Commission, Congress is leading on HOR seats and on 47 other seats.

Account of CPN-UML also opened

Meanwhile, the main opposition CPN-UML won its first seat from the Lalitpur-2 constituency, where Prem Bahadur Mahajan defeated Sudin Shakya of the Hamro Nepali Party by a margin of 6,139 votes. Maharajan got 15,025 votes, while his nearest rival Shakya got 8,886 votes. And in Kathmandu-9 constituency, Krishna Gopal Shrestha of the party has won the HOR seat. He has defeated Tek Bahadur Pokharel of Rashtriya Swatantra Party.

According to the Election Commission, the CPN-UML remains ahead in 40 other HOR seats. So on the other hand, CPN-Maoist president Pushpakamal Dahal “Prachanda” is leading from Gorkha-2 constituency. He has so far secured 7,057 votes against his nearest rival Kavindra Burlakoti of RSP.

Former prime minister and CPN-UML president KP Sharma Oli is leading in Jhapa 5 constituency with 15,510 votes, while his nearest Congress rival Khagendra Adhikari has secured 8,955 votes so far. Nagarik Unmukti Party candidate Gangaram Chowdhary has won the HOR election from Kailali-3 constituency. He has defeated Kundan Chowdhary of CPN-Maoist Centre.

According to Election Commission officials, CPN-Maoist Center is leading on 14 HOR seats, Rashtriya Swatantra Party on 11, CPN-Unified Socialist on 7, Rashtriya Prajatantra Party on 6 seats and Civil Liberation Party on 3 seats.

read this also: Nepal Election: General election held in Nepal, controversy over polling booth, ballot papers burnt, police had to fire



Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here